Arizona Cellphone Ban
Recently a bill (HB2318) was signed, which bans all handheld cellphone use while driving in the State of Arizona. Here’s what you need to know:
The following use is NOT allowed-
- Holding or supporting a cellphone while talking, with any part of a person’s body.
- Watching or recording video
- Writing, reading or sending any text based communication. This includes text messaging, instant messaging and email.
The following use IS allowed-
- Swiping a phone screen to accept or make a phone call.
- Voice-based communication (talk to text)
- Using your cellphone while stopped at a traffic light
- Using your cellphone to call 911
- Talking on the phone using an earpiece, headphone device, or device worn on wrist.
Police officers can currently pull you over. However, they can only issue warnings until January 1, 2021. After this date, first time offenses will result in a ticket between $75 and $149. Every offense after will be between $150 and $250.
If a driver is stopped for this offense, officers cannot take possession of a cellphone or otherwise inspect the phone.
Cities that currently have laws regarding cellphone use while driving will remain in effect until the new law replaces them in 2021.#autorepair, #cellphoneban, #mesaarizona, #RADAutoRepair, mechanic